Why I Follow #Baconbarter and Thank Oscar Mayer

For those who don’t know, there is free Oscar Mayer butcher thick cut applewoood smoked bacon for barter. As seen on ABC’s Good Morning America, Oscar Mayer is sponsoring the cross-country trip of comedian and actor Josh Sankey…using only bacon as currency, to barter his way across the country. Josh Sankey (AKA @baconbarter on twitter) is traveling from east to west coast in a trailer along with 3,000 pounds of Oscar Mayer’s NEW Butcher Thick Cut Applewood Smoked Bacon. Josh is using this highly prized commodity as currency to trade for lodging, tickets to events, meals, etc.

You can follow him on his website http://www.baconbarter.com/ where they show online followers making him offers, based on his immediate needs.

How did I get so lucky? Let’s just call it, “the right tweet at the right time.

Here’s how it went down, for the most part. Last Monday, on Twitter, I tweeted about a bacon doughnuts, Josh saw the tweet and replied…

Reply 10 SepJosh Sankey @baconbarter

@javilabbe, I can’t get you a bacon doughnut, but I do have 3000 bricks of bacon to trade—follow me to see why! #BaconBarter

That sounded good to me, so I followed @baconbarter; and he replied with…

 

From baconbarter to me: Sep 11, 12:40pm

Hi, thanks for the follow! I’d like to send you some Butcher Thick Cut Bacon. Can you just DM me your mailing address? 

I didn’t think much about it, so I went head and DM’d @baconbarter my address as requested.

Josh replied with:

From baconbarter to me: Sep 11, 12:40pm

All I ask for in return is a tweet about @baconbarter. I’m traveling the country w/ just a trailer of bacon to barter with! Wish me luck! 

From me to baconbarter: Sep 11, 1:08pm 

Sure! I typed back, “Good luck. Keep us in the loop”

From baconbarter to me: Sep 11, 2:39pm

Will do, Javier! Nice bartering with you. Enjoy the bacon!

Retweet javilabbeSep 11, 8:45pm via HootSuite

@baconbarter is out n’about RT @HealthyKidsGrow: @baconbarter in addition to the couch, I can provide a home cooked meal too.

Guess what arrived at my front door yesterday?  #BACON

Now, I’m on the lookout for tweets, to RT and share the excitement for @oscarmayer and @baconbarter search for #baconbarter on twitter or look for them on Facebook.

2 thoughts on “Why I Follow #Baconbarter and Thank Oscar Mayer

  1. Chivas Regal Singapore Whiskey

    🙂 Awesome post man very interesting enjoyed the topic and post.. Thanks for sharing..

    Reply

Leave a comment